HealthTree Logo
search more_vert
person Sign In / Create Account

Hepatosplenic T-cell lymphoma (HSTCL) is a rare and aggressive form of non-Hodgkin lymphoma that primarily affects the liver and spleen. The staging and classification of HSTCL is based on the Ann Arbor staging system, which is commonly used for all types of lymphomas. This system takes into account the number of lymph nodes affected, the location of the disease, and whether it has spread to other organs.

Ann Arbor Staging System for HSTCL

The Ann Arbor staging system classifies lymphomas into four stages:

  • Stage I: The cancer is limited to one lymph node region or a single organ.
  • Stage II: The cancer is in two or more lymph node regions on the same side of the diaphragm or it extends from a single lymph node region into a nearby organ.
  • Stage III: The cancer is in lymph node regions on both sides of the diaphragm.
  • Stage IV: The cancer has spread to multiple organs or areas outside the lymph nodes.

In addition to these stages, the system also uses the letters "A" or "B" to indicate whether the patient has been experiencing symptoms. "A" means the patient has not been experiencing symptoms, while "B" indicates the patient has been experiencing symptoms such as fever, weight loss, or night sweats.

Classification of Hepatosplenic T-Cell Lymphoma

HSTCL is classified as a peripheral T-cell lymphoma, a type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma. This classification is based on the type of lymphocyte (a kind of white blood cell) that the cancer originates from. In the case of HSTCL, the cancer originates from T lymphocytes, specifically those in the liver, spleen, and sometimes the bone marrow.

Phases of Hepatosplenic T-Cell Lymphoma

The phases of HSTCL can be broadly divided into three categories:

  • Initial phase: This is when the disease is localized to the liver and spleen. Symptoms may include abdominal pain, fatigue, and unexplained weight loss.
  • Intermediate phase: The disease begins to spread to other parts of the body, such as the lymph nodes and bone marrow. Symptoms may become more severe and may include fever, night sweats, and anemia.
  • Advanced phase: The disease has spread to multiple organs and systems in the body. At this stage, the disease is often difficult to treat and the prognosis is generally poor.

It's important to note that the progression of HSTCL can vary greatly from patient to patient. Some patients may progress rapidly, while others may remain in the initial phase for a long period of time.

Want to Learn More About Hepatosplenic T-Cell Lymphoma?

Keep reading HealthTree for Hepatosplenic T-Cell Lymphoma's 101 pages!

Get the latest thought leadership on Hepatosplenic T-Cell Lymphoma delivered straight to your inbox.

Subscribe to the weekly "HealthTree Community for Hepatosplenic T-Cell Lymphoma Newsletter" for Hepatosplenic T-Cell Lymphoma news, life with Hepatosplenic T-Cell Lymphoma stories, Hepatosplenic T-Cell Lymphoma clinical trials, Hepatosplenic T-Cell Lymphoma 101 articles and events with Hepatosplenic T-Cell Lymphoma experts.