HealthTree Logo
search more_vert
person Sign In / Create Account

What Are The Types and Stages of Myelofibrosis?

Myelofibrosis is a rare type of bone marrow disorder that disrupts the normal production of blood cells. It is classified as a type of myeloproliferative neoplasm (MPN), which involves the excessive production of certain blood cell types. Myelofibrosis is characterized by the replacement of bone marrow with fibrous tissue, leading to anemia, splenomegaly (enlarged spleen), and various symptoms.

Myelofibrosis can be classified into two different types and four stages based on various factors, including symptoms, blood cell counts, and the presence of certain genetic mutations.

Types of Myelofibrosis:

  • Primary Myelofibrosis (PMF): This is the most common type of myelofibrosis and often develops suddenly without any reason. It can occur at any age but is more commonly diagnosed in individuals over 50. PMF is characterized by the gradual replacement of healthy bone marrow tissue with fibrous scar tissue, leading to reduced blood cell production.
  • Secondary Myelofibrosis: Also known as post-essential thrombocythemia or post-polycythemia vera myelofibrosis, this type of myelofibrosis develops as a complication of other MPNs, such as essential thrombocythemia or polycythemia vera. Over time, these conditions can become or turn into myelofibrosis, often with more aggressive symptoms.

Stages of Myelofibrosis:

The stages of myelofibrosis are determined based on the amount of fibrosis in the bone marrow, as well as the presence of certain symptoms. The most commonly used staging system is the International Prognostic Scoring System (IPSS) and its variations:

  • Low Risk: Patients in this stage have relatively mild symptoms and a good prognosis. Their survival rate is typically longer, and they may require minimal treatment.
  • Intermediate-1 Risk: This stage includes patients with slightly more advanced disease, but their prognosis is still relatively favorable. They may experience moderate symptoms, and treatment strategies aim to manage these symptoms and maintain quality of life.
  • Intermediate-2 Risk: Patients in this stage have more severe symptoms and a less favorable prognosis. They may require more aggressive treatment approaches to manage their symptoms and improve their quality of life.
  • High Risk: Patients in this stage have the most advanced form of myelofibrosis, with severe symptoms and a poor prognosis. Treatment options focus on symptom management and potentially more intensive interventions, such as stem cell transplantation, if the patient is eligible.

It's important to note that myelofibrosis is a complex disorder, and individual cases can vary widely. Treatment approaches and prognoses are influenced by factors such as the patient's overall health, age, genetics, and the presence of certain mutations (such as JAK2, CALR, or MPL mutations). A hematologist the specializes in myelofibrosis is the best resource for accurate diagnosis, staging, and treatment recommendations tailored to the individual patient.

See a list of Myelofibrosis Specialists


Get the latest thought leadership on Myelofibrosis delivered straight to your inbox.

Subscribe to the weekly "HealthTree Community for Myelofibrosis Newsletter" for Myelofibrosis news, life with Myelofibrosis stories, Myelofibrosis clinical trials, Myelofibrosis 101 articles and events with Myelofibrosis experts.

Follow Us

facebook twitter